Basilica of Our Lady of Peñafrancia
The Basilica of Our Lady of Peñafrancia serves as the sole basilica within the Bicol Region and the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Caceres. It is situated on the outskirts of Naga City and holds the distinction of being one of the largest Marian Pilgrimage sites in Asia. It also serves as a National Shrine where the image of Our Lady of Peñafrancia is situated.

contact & information

Mobile #

N/A

Landline #

(054) 473 3644

Email

basilicaofficeofficial@gmail.com

Address

J5JX+RXH, Balatas Rd, Naga, 4400 Camarines Sur

History

1710 – Rev. Fr. Miguel Robles de Covarrubias built a Chapel and from a stampita he always had with him, had a replica of the Lady of Peña de Francia carved from wood then enshrined her at the said Chapel.

1741 – Fr. Miguel returned to Nueva Caceres (now Naga City) from Manila, and pledged to build the stone church that he promised Our Lady. It was not known if Fr. Miguel was still alive or dead then, under Most Rev. Ysidro de Arevalo, DD, the stone church was erected.

1741 – present shrine was built by Bishop Ysidro Arevalo

19th Century – which was later renovated by Francisco Gainza to  accommodate growing numbers of devotees. A larger church was built on the other side of the river to house the image.

1985 – The church was elevated to the rank of a minor basilica.

1960 – Archbishop Pedro P. Santos dreamt building a basilica to honor the Virgin. Shortly after, through the meditation of the Archbishop Emeritus Teopisto V. Alberto, D.D., and the Association of Our Lady of Peñafrancia, Mr. and Mrs. Macario Mariano donated a 3-hectare lot in Bario Balatas.

April 18, 1976 – Bishop Concordio Sarte initiated the groundwork construction, with the blessing rite and laying of the cornerstone held on Easter Sunday.

September 1981 – Fr. Sofio Balce reorganized the different committees and launched “Operation Peñafrancia Basilica” and was finally complete.

May 22,1982 – it was initially dedicated as the Church of Nuestra Señora de Peña de Francia.

May 22, 1985 – exactly 3 years later, the church was given the title of “Basilica Minore” by the Holy See after a request from the third Archbishop of Caceres, Leonardo Z. Legaspi, O.P., D.D.

1991 – Basilica Rector, Msgr. Manolo de los Santos, began repairs on the basilica.

1993 – Rector, Msgr. Alberto Nero, resumed major repairs and repainting of the structure.

September 1994 – leaking roofs were fully repaired and repainted.

November 3, 1994 – the repair works and repainting of the exterior walls were resumed.

Related Articles

No related articles.

  • Explorer's Feed

    Discover, Explore, and Experience Bicol!

This will close in 0 seconds

This will close in 0 seconds

This will close in 0 seconds